• You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Want to Trek Cross Country Driving across USA

#1 User is offline   TomViola 

• Civilian Newbie
  • Group: Members

Posted 13 August 2011 - 03:01 PM

Hello Jeepsters

I am new to JeepTalk, and a new Jeep owner. I own a Trail Rated, Jeep Wrangler Sport 2Dr 2011. I am 61 years old and expect to retire and trek across the USA. The first step of my plan was to get the vehicle I wanted to use on my trek. Two months ago I purchased my Jeep. So Step One accomplished. Next I want to get a utility trailer (5' long, 4' wide and 40 inches deep) with a closeable top, somewhat weather resistent. Hoping to spend less than $600 for it. I have been developing a travel route and lists of items to go into my utility trailer. My lists fall into 8 Categories. Each category represents a Tub or Container inside my Utility Trailer: Clothes, Kitchen, Tools, Camping, Tent, Electronics, First Aid and Cooler. In my earlier years, I was an avid backpacker. I plan to employ much of the skills and experience from backpacking to this trek, tempered by the reality that I am not as young as I was when I was backpacking. I plan to be on the road for approximately four months. For much of the trek I expect I will be solo. (My wife still has many years to go before she can retire.) But I expect that along the way my wife will join me for two weeks, and others will pick out a leg of the trip to join me. (So I will pick them up and drop them off at various airports along the way.) My trek route and my lists are on Excel Spreadsheets. If anyone wants my lists and route let me know and I can email them. Or if anyone wishes to share their trail proved lists, please send them to viola.t@comcast.net

If anyone knows of a good deal on a utility trailer that meets my specs, please let me know.

#2 User is offline   Jim B 

• Commander
  • Group: GlobalMod

Posted 14 August 2011 - 08:21 AM

:welcome: Your plans are a great experience.