JEEPTALK.net: Transfering Files - PC to PC - JEEPTALK.net

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1

Transfering Files - PC to PC

#1 User is offline   Rollbar 

  • Commander
  • Group: GlobalMod
  • Posts: 7,057
  • Joined: 16-May 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Floral City, Florida

Posted 23 January 2010 - 11:31 AM

Question ( :shock: :lol: ) I need to tranfer files form one Vista to another. I did have my Belkin cable but can't find it. I did however find a USB to USB Cable (usb on each end). Can I use the USB to USB cable to do this ?

P.S. My Belkin came w/a disc and in the center of the cable it had a big hump like a turtle shell, don't know if I need a special cable or not.

Signed,
USB Adapter Tech :rof:
*MY CJ IS YOUR yJ's DADDY*

*Who Needs A Stinking Manual When You Have A Fat Wallet For Tech Support!*

*What man is a man who does not make the world better*

Support the Central Florida Bible Camp for kids

'65 CJ5 Navy; '74 CJ5; '80 CJ7; '84 CJ8; '86 CJ7
Posted Image <----CLICK

#2 User is offline   CrackerJack 

  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1,134
  • Joined: 23-September 09
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Miami, Fl

Posted 23 January 2010 - 11:57 AM

Not sure about the USB cable but jumpdrives are really cheap now or you could put the files on a cd. just a suggestion.
1991 YJ 3" SOA, 3" BL, 38.5 boggers, SYE, EB D44/8.8, 4.10s, 1999 4.0 High Output motor, BIG rear bumper, 10K vortex winch w/ wireless remote, Square Headlights plus a few extra
1989 YJ. 2"BL, semi-functional snorkel, little "girlie" tires
2001 F350 7.3L turbo diesel, Square Headlights
2007 Honda Rancher 4x4 27" Vampire tires, Square Headlights
Member: South Florida Jeep Club
FOUNDER: Square Headlight Intense Team
"Right is Right even if no one does it & Wrong is Wrong even if everyone does it."
"NEVER look down on someone unless you are helping them up"
"I'm not smart but I can lift heavy things"

Posted Image

#3 User is offline   Lost Sheep 

  • Second Lieutenant
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 240
  • Joined: 10-November 09
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Port Saint Lucie, Florida

Posted 23 January 2010 - 01:09 PM

I don't think you'll be able to on that usb cable. Easiest way to move files from hard drive to hard drive is remove one hard drive from the computer and install it along side the other hard drive in a tower. Boot which ever you like and then drag and drop files. You can also get online storage and back things up there as well for cheap it's just time consuming because most ISP's time out when there are large uploads.
Most people aren't brave, they are just too stupid to realize what they are doing.

2006 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon 4.0 with a 6 speed hand shaker: 4" Skyjacker lift, Super Lift bent Control Arms, High Rock front and rear bumpers, Rubicon Express Hand throttle ,Cragar 15" Soft 8's wrapped with 35" Dunlop Mud Rovers.

VP High Rollers Jeep Club

#4 User is offline   JeepNWilly 

  • Brigadier General
  • View gallery
  • Group: GlobalMod
  • Posts: 2,570
  • Joined: 23-April 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:West Palm Beach, FL

Posted 23 January 2010 - 01:14 PM

USB Thumbdrive is the best bet for you I think it is the same as what CrackerJack said.

http://www.compusa.com/applications/Catego...p=LN-_-ACC-_-NA

You can get them anywhere. BestBuy, Walmart, Target, etc....

http://www.walmart.com/catalog/product.do?...uct_id=11828081
$36.84 Sandisk 16GB Cruzer USB Flash Drive
Posted Image

View PostLost Sheep, on Jan 23 2010, 01:09 PM, said:

I don't think you'll be able to on that usb cable. Easiest way to move files from hard drive to hard drive is remove one hard drive from the computer and install it along side the other hard drive in a tower. Boot which ever you like and then drag and drop files. You can also get online storage and back things up there as well for cheap it's just time consuming because most ISP's time out when there are large uploads.

To do this I like this little device. I have one. USB to IDE, or SATA :lol:
http://www.compusa.com/applications/Search...&CatId=3770
Posted Image
Willy
2006 Wrangler X , 2014 JK Unlimited Sport
Keep Calm And Wave On
Pics:

Posted Image

#5 User is offline   StuckZilla 

  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1,137
  • Joined: 22-July 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Miramar, FL

Posted 23 January 2010 - 01:29 PM

Email:
If the files are not too big they could be attached to email which you could send to yourself and picked up on the destination PC. This solution assumes internet connectivity.

USB Device:
As Cracker Jack & Willy mentioned you could use jump drives (memory stick type device in usb port).
If you have a digital camera, you could use it instead of the jump drive (to save the cose of the jump drive if not owned already)

CD/DVD:
If your PC can burn a CD or DVD...

Network:
If you plan to run both machines and are thinking of having both access to the Internet, get a router (cheap 20 to 40 bucks). Configure Vista to share the needed drive and have the other access it.
SFJC President
99 TJ - Wrangler Sport
35" Procomp MT, 4.56 RP, 4" Susp, 1" Body, 1" Motor Mount Lift
F: Detroit TrueTrac LS, Chromoly Shafts, Slotted & Drilled Rotors
R: Detroit Soft-Locker & 30 Spline D35c, SYE
Smitty XRC8000 Winch on A-Z Plate & Hella Lights

#6 User is offline   Rollbar 

  • Commander
  • Group: GlobalMod
  • Posts: 7,057
  • Joined: 16-May 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Floral City, Florida

Posted 23 January 2010 - 02:15 PM

Wow, thanks guys. I have the cable like U mentioned Willy but it won't plug into the L-top. I can't find my other one and :lol: .

I couldn't wait any longer so I got a Pc for the office.

HP Pavilion
Monitor-w2338h - 23" - Full HD 1080p LCD
Model-a6863w - with VISTA but a FREE upgrade to MS7
7gig memory
750 HD
AMD Phenom x4 - 9150e Quad core processor
64 bit
Dvd burner etc.

Got it cheap cause they wanted to get rid of the VISTA and it was the last one.

Now what to do w/the free upgrade to 7 for this PC. My L-top is still Vista :shock:

#7 User is offline   JeepNWilly 

  • Brigadier General
  • View gallery
  • Group: GlobalMod
  • Posts: 2,570
  • Joined: 23-April 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:West Palm Beach, FL

Posted 23 January 2010 - 03:28 PM

View PostRollbar, on Jan 23 2010, 02:15 PM, said:

Wow, thanks guys. I have the cable like U mentioned Willy but it won't plug into the L-top. I can't find my other one and :lol: .


The cable I mentioned is to attach a hard drive to it and the other end to the USB port on the computer
Willy
2006 Wrangler X , 2014 JK Unlimited Sport
Keep Calm And Wave On
Pics:

Posted Image

#8 User is offline   Rollbar 

  • Commander
  • Group: GlobalMod
  • Posts: 7,057
  • Joined: 16-May 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Floral City, Florida

Posted 23 January 2010 - 03:53 PM

Ya I got, I bought one when my XP :lol:

I found my Belkin cable but the disc says it is for XP-VISTA transfer. I'm gonna try it w/out the disc and see if I can :shock: again :rof:

#9 User is offline   Rollbar 

  • Commander
  • Group: GlobalMod
  • Posts: 7,057
  • Joined: 16-May 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Floral City, Florida

Posted 23 January 2010 - 05:08 PM

Ok, it worked but it said it ran out of room ???. I'll try it when I get MS7 w/ the different drives. maybe I did it wrong, I selected the things I wanted to transfer. :lol:

#10 User is offline   kieth225 

  • Private
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: 14-December 09
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Arcadia, FL

Posted 23 January 2010 - 10:37 PM

View PostRollbar, on Jan 23 2010, 05:08 PM, said:

Ok, it worked but it said it ran out of room ???. I'll try it when I get MS7 w/ the different drives. maybe I did it wrong, I selected the things I wanted to transfer. :lol:

Rollbar I used the "easy transfer cable" and ran windows easy transfer. If your upgrading to win 7 you'll have to download the new drivers for the cable and easy transfer. make sure you transfer to "C" drive and not the virtual D drive, I've heard ugly things happen if you do this!

#11 User is offline   Rollbar 

  • Commander
  • Group: GlobalMod
  • Posts: 7,057
  • Joined: 16-May 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Floral City, Florida

Posted 23 January 2010 - 11:30 PM

Thanks a lot kieth, will do. Waiting on my wireless antenna from CompUSA then I can update the PC.

#12 User is offline   sbmonkey 

  • First Lieutenant
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 380
  • Joined: 28-May 07
  • Location:Delray Beach, FL

Posted 26 January 2010 - 11:39 PM

This is all windows crapola. The best way to transfer files is to use ssh,rsync or scp. You could use ftp too. Oh the amazing freedom and power of unix!

#13 User is offline   Rollbar 

  • Commander
  • Group: GlobalMod
  • Posts: 7,057
  • Joined: 16-May 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Floral City, Florida

Posted 26 January 2010 - 11:43 PM

View Postsbmonkey, on Jan 26 2010, 08:39 PM, said:

The best way to transfer files is to use ssh,rsync or scp. You could use ftp too.


OK, explain these in bold please. Id this something on a VISTA or WINDOWS 7 machine?

#14 User is offline   sbmonkey 

  • First Lieutenant
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 380
  • Joined: 28-May 07
  • Location:Delray Beach, FL

Posted 26 January 2010 - 11:53 PM

View PostRollbar, on Jan 26 2010, 11:43 PM, said:

OK, explain these in bold please. Id this something on a VISTA or WINDOWS 7 machine?


You didn't quote the unix thingy but...

These are server client technologies that are used to make transferring data easier which can be automated. They are not overly complicated, but winblows does try to make things as difficult as possible as usual. If you run an ssh server ( can be installed on winblows ), you can transfer files with a simple command. The point n click stuff just doesn't compare.

The way is is done. Of coarse a one time file transfer may not warrant this time wise.

On winblows.
1. Run ssh server.
2. From the second winblows machine simply transfer the files over.
ex. scp $FILES $WINBLOWS_COMPUTER.
3. Done.

Or ...
With the ssh server installed you could use rsync to transfer the file. It works hand in hand with ssh and uses it's secure channel to do so.
ex.
rsync $FILES $WINBLOWS_COMPUTER

Also this can be automated to transfer files, directories and any given time scheduled or not scheduled. Theses technologies work and work well just ask Google. :beer:

If you are really interested, I would spend some time discussing it with you offline or online. Remember that just because windows does a certain does not mean it is the best way

#15 User is offline   Rollbar 

  • Commander
  • Group: GlobalMod
  • Posts: 7,057
  • Joined: 16-May 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Floral City, Florida

Posted 26 January 2010 - 11:57 PM

I wasn't aware of the UNIX thing.

I would prefer to discuss it right here on my post/topic (which I can edit the title post if needed for future.

Thanks,
Jim

#16 User is offline   Rollbar 

  • Commander
  • Group: GlobalMod
  • Posts: 7,057
  • Joined: 16-May 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Floral City, Florida

Posted 29 January 2010 - 04:42 PM

OK, transfered my files etc and did OUTLOOK as well but it didn't transfer any e-mails or folders.

Anyone have a clue as to why when I checked the box for it to transfer?
I have a ton of info and would like to keep it/folders (inbox, sent, etc)

#17 User is offline   JeepNWilly 

  • Brigadier General
  • View gallery
  • Group: GlobalMod
  • Posts: 2,570
  • Joined: 23-April 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:West Palm Beach, FL

Posted 30 January 2010 - 04:02 PM

View PostRollbar, on Jan 29 2010, 04:42 PM, said:

OK, transfered my files etc and did OUTLOOK as well but it didn't transfer any e-mails or folders.

Anyone have a clue as to why when I checked the box for it to transfer?
I have a ton of info and would like to keep it/folders (inbox, sent, etc)

Your email file is hidden deep within your profile

It is usually "C:\Users\ <your user name> \AppData\Local\Microsoft\Outlook"
If not try "C:\Users\ <your user name> \AppData\LocalLow\Microsoft\Outlook"
or "C:\Users\ <your user name> \AppData\Roamin\Microsoft\Outlook"

It is a .pst file.
Willy
2006 Wrangler X , 2014 JK Unlimited Sport
Keep Calm And Wave On
Pics:

Posted Image

#18 User is offline   Rollbar 

  • Commander
  • Group: GlobalMod
  • Posts: 7,057
  • Joined: 16-May 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Floral City, Florida

Posted 30 January 2010 - 10:16 PM

View PostJeepNWilly, on Jan 30 2010, 01:02 PM, said:

Your email file is hidden deep within your profile

It is usually "C:\Users\ <your user name> \AppData\Local\Microsoft\Outlook"
If not try "C:\Users\ <your user name> \AppData\LocalLow\Microsoft\Outlook"
or "C:\Users\ <your user name> \AppData\Roamin\Microsoft\Outlook"

It is a .pst file.



So If I type those things in I can transfer the e-mail and folder groups I have on the side (OUTLOOK). So I pull those up and then what! Or How do I transfer those.

Thanks everyone.

#19 User is offline   JeepNWilly 

  • Brigadier General
  • View gallery
  • Group: GlobalMod
  • Posts: 2,570
  • Joined: 23-April 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:West Palm Beach, FL

Posted 01 February 2010 - 05:05 PM

View PostRollbar, on Jan 30 2010, 10:16 PM, said:

So If I type those things in I can transfer the e-mail and folder groups I have on the side (OUTLOOK). So I pull those up and then what! Or How do I transfer those.

Thanks everyone.

in that path you should find files like Outlook.pst, mailbox.pst or some other name .pst
simply transfer that file to you new PC and open it with outlook
Willy
2006 Wrangler X , 2014 JK Unlimited Sport
Keep Calm And Wave On
Pics:

Posted Image

#20 User is offline   Rollbar 

  • Commander
  • Group: GlobalMod
  • Posts: 7,057
  • Joined: 16-May 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Floral City, Florida

Posted 01 February 2010 - 05:28 PM

View PostJeepNWilly, on Jan 30 2010, 01:02 PM, said:

Your email file is hidden deep within your profile

It is usually "C:\Users\ <your user name> \AppData\Local\Microsoft\Outlook"
If not try "C:\Users\ <your user name> \AppData\LocalLow\Microsoft\Outlook"
or "C:\Users\ <your user name> \AppData\Roamin\Microsoft\Outlook"

It is a .pst file.



So do I type in MISSCONFIG or just type those in on the START bar on VISTA? :lol:

#21 User is offline   JeepNWilly 

  • Brigadier General
  • View gallery
  • Group: GlobalMod
  • Posts: 2,570
  • Joined: 23-April 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:West Palm Beach, FL

Posted 01 February 2010 - 05:36 PM

View PostRollbar, on Feb 1 2010, 05:28 PM, said:

So do I type in MISSCONFIG or just type those in on the START bar on VISTA? :banghead:

That path is the regular explorer file structure or my computer just click to it or type it in the explorer address bar and hit enter

see pic below
Posted Image
Willy
2006 Wrangler X , 2014 JK Unlimited Sport
Keep Calm And Wave On
Pics:

Posted Image

#22 User is offline   Rollbar 

  • Commander
  • Group: GlobalMod
  • Posts: 7,057
  • Joined: 16-May 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Floral City, Florida

Posted 01 February 2010 - 05:38 PM

Oh, ok then I type in the wording/whatever U posted in the box on that screen then for it to come up.

#23 User is offline   JeepNWilly 

  • Brigadier General
  • View gallery
  • Group: GlobalMod
  • Posts: 2,570
  • Joined: 23-April 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:West Palm Beach, FL

Posted 01 February 2010 - 05:44 PM

View PostRollbar, on Feb 1 2010, 05:38 PM, said:

Oh, ok then I type in the wording/whatever U posted in the box on that screen then for it to come up.

You have to get to those files using whatever file transfer tool yo are using. I can't help there because I have never used those tools. I always use either a CD/DVD or a thumbdrive (USB Memory device)

It is like getting to your MS Word files or MS Excel files just at that specific location in your hard drive.
Willy
2006 Wrangler X , 2014 JK Unlimited Sport
Keep Calm And Wave On
Pics:

Posted Image

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1


Fast Reply

  
Miami Jeep Fort Lauderdale Jeep Dealer