JEEPTALK.net: Wifi Router Signal Boost - JEEPTALK.net

Jump to content

  • 5 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Wifi Router Signal Boost

#61 User is offline   JeepNWilly 

  • Brigadier General
  • View gallery
  • Group: GlobalMod
  • Posts: 2,570
  • Joined: 23-April 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:West Palm Beach, FL

Posted 29 March 2011 - 07:20 PM

1. UTP = Unshielded Twisted Pair cable. (Most Cat5 cables you buy are UTP)
2. Yes it needs to be wired using the ethernet cable and should be configured as an accesspoint only.

3. no need to answer this one since the answer above is Yes :lol:

4. You'r Welcome!
Willy
2006 Wrangler X , 2014 JK Unlimited Sport
Keep Calm And Wave On
Pics:

Posted Image

#62 User is offline   Rollbar 

  • Commander
  • Group: GlobalMod
  • Posts: 7,057
  • Joined: 16-May 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Floral City, Florida

Posted 29 March 2011 - 07:40 PM

Can you put a splitter on a ethernet cable like a phone cable, one into two?

We will see what happens on Thursday as to their wireless router, then I will need help on the access point set up. :nervous:
*MY CJ IS YOUR yJ's DADDY*

*Who Needs A Stinking Manual When You Have A Fat Wallet For Tech Support!*

*What man is a man who does not make the world better*

Support the Central Florida Bible Camp for kids

'65 CJ5 Navy; '74 CJ5; '80 CJ7; '84 CJ8; '86 CJ7
Posted Image <----CLICK

#63 User is offline   JeepNWilly 

  • Brigadier General
  • View gallery
  • Group: GlobalMod
  • Posts: 2,570
  • Joined: 23-April 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:West Palm Beach, FL

Posted 29 March 2011 - 07:42 PM

View PostRollbar, on 29 March 2011 - 07:40 PM, said:

Can you put a splitter on a ethernet cable like a phone cable, one into two?

We will see what happens on Thursday as to their wireless router, then I will need help on the access point set up. :nervous:

:no:
Willy
2006 Wrangler X , 2014 JK Unlimited Sport
Keep Calm And Wave On
Pics:

Posted Image

#64 User is offline   Rollbar 

  • Commander
  • Group: GlobalMod
  • Posts: 7,057
  • Joined: 16-May 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Floral City, Florida

Posted 29 March 2011 - 07:45 PM

Ok thanks.

I guess I'll have to find a place that sells Ethernet cbl in length to the access point, or get a beam dish :)
*MY CJ IS YOUR yJ's DADDY*

*Who Needs A Stinking Manual When You Have A Fat Wallet For Tech Support!*

*What man is a man who does not make the world better*

Support the Central Florida Bible Camp for kids

'65 CJ5 Navy; '74 CJ5; '80 CJ7; '84 CJ8; '86 CJ7
Posted Image <----CLICK

#65 User is offline   JeepNWilly 

  • Brigadier General
  • View gallery
  • Group: GlobalMod
  • Posts: 2,570
  • Joined: 23-April 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:West Palm Beach, FL

Posted 29 March 2011 - 07:50 PM

You could try to use a wireless repeater/extender and see if that can solve you issue.
Do you get Wifi signal at all at the house?
Willy
2006 Wrangler X , 2014 JK Unlimited Sport
Keep Calm And Wave On
Pics:

Posted Image

#66 User is offline   Rollbar 

  • Commander
  • Group: GlobalMod
  • Posts: 7,057
  • Joined: 16-May 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Floral City, Florida

Posted 29 March 2011 - 07:59 PM

Yes I get signal to the office from the house (better since the Netgear went out and I re-connected the D-link)but since we have 25meg minimum service to 32meg I wanted to move the router to hard wire Jr's X-Box and my laptop but still feed the office.

Not sure if their router will reach or not, that is why I was thinking of something to get it there better. Better than paying for extra service @ the office.

But I do have a small antenna @ the office and from what I have read, they need to be able to talk to each other, meaning, even though you have a good output from a base station, you still need something to send it back.

Not sure what they have as a router.

Here is what I have @ the office,a 2dbi but now I found out they have 5dbi:
http://www.compusa.com/applications/Search...&CatId=2688
Posted Image
*MY CJ IS YOUR yJ's DADDY*

*Who Needs A Stinking Manual When You Have A Fat Wallet For Tech Support!*

*What man is a man who does not make the world better*

Support the Central Florida Bible Camp for kids

'65 CJ5 Navy; '74 CJ5; '80 CJ7; '84 CJ8; '86 CJ7
Posted Image <----CLICK

#67 User is offline   JeepNWilly 

  • Brigadier General
  • View gallery
  • Group: GlobalMod
  • Posts: 2,570
  • Joined: 23-April 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:West Palm Beach, FL

Posted 29 March 2011 - 08:03 PM

Something like this may be what you need. The range extender get your signal and rebroadcasts it out


Posted Image

here is another

Posted Image
Willy
2006 Wrangler X , 2014 JK Unlimited Sport
Keep Calm And Wave On
Pics:

Posted Image

#68 User is offline   Rollbar 

  • Commander
  • Group: GlobalMod
  • Posts: 7,057
  • Joined: 16-May 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Floral City, Florida

Posted 29 March 2011 - 08:25 PM

Thanks, looks like something that would work. I did not notice, but it doesn't look like it needs to be hard wired to the main router.

Thanks,
Jim II :2thumup:
*MY CJ IS YOUR yJ's DADDY*

*Who Needs A Stinking Manual When You Have A Fat Wallet For Tech Support!*

*What man is a man who does not make the world better*

Support the Central Florida Bible Camp for kids

'65 CJ5 Navy; '74 CJ5; '80 CJ7; '84 CJ8; '86 CJ7
Posted Image <----CLICK

#69 User is offline   JeepNWilly 

  • Brigadier General
  • View gallery
  • Group: GlobalMod
  • Posts: 2,570
  • Joined: 23-April 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:West Palm Beach, FL

Posted 29 March 2011 - 08:28 PM

correct it is a signal repeater, so it gets the wifi signal amplifies it and sends it out.
I wonder if it can be placed at the office and have enough powere to pick up the signal from the house or at worst case build a small building like a doghouse somewhere equal distance from the house and office and place it there.
Willy
2006 Wrangler X , 2014 JK Unlimited Sport
Keep Calm And Wave On
Pics:

Posted Image

#70 User is offline   Rollbar 

  • Commander
  • Group: GlobalMod
  • Posts: 7,057
  • Joined: 16-May 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Floral City, Florida

Posted 29 March 2011 - 09:41 PM

Interesting thought. I could put it in a window facing the house and put it up/top behind the blind and it would be perfect I would think.

Hum, let's see what charter does and then I will look into this w/a report back.

In the buildings window, it would be 200' away from the house and 28' from the office, might work. :scratch: :naughty:
*MY CJ IS YOUR yJ's DADDY*

*Who Needs A Stinking Manual When You Have A Fat Wallet For Tech Support!*

*What man is a man who does not make the world better*

Support the Central Florida Bible Camp for kids

'65 CJ5 Navy; '74 CJ5; '80 CJ7; '84 CJ8; '86 CJ7
Posted Image <----CLICK

#71 User is offline   Rollbar 

  • Commander
  • Group: GlobalMod
  • Posts: 7,057
  • Joined: 16-May 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Floral City, Florida

Posted 29 March 2011 - 09:52 PM

I wonder if the repeater will send a secured signal, I guess it would since it is pulling from a secured signal.
*MY CJ IS YOUR yJ's DADDY*

*Who Needs A Stinking Manual When You Have A Fat Wallet For Tech Support!*

*What man is a man who does not make the world better*

Support the Central Florida Bible Camp for kids

'65 CJ5 Navy; '74 CJ5; '80 CJ7; '84 CJ8; '86 CJ7
Posted Image <----CLICK

#72 User is offline   Rollbar 

  • Commander
  • Group: GlobalMod
  • Posts: 7,057
  • Joined: 16-May 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Floral City, Florida

Posted 31 March 2011 - 01:47 PM

So how does one set up a accessory (D-Link) from the other wireless router?

Does one have to go into the D-link settings?

Will the routers conflict or be compatible since the driving router is giving the accessory router the same signal. :tongue1:
*MY CJ IS YOUR yJ's DADDY*

*Who Needs A Stinking Manual When You Have A Fat Wallet For Tech Support!*

*What man is a man who does not make the world better*

Support the Central Florida Bible Camp for kids

'65 CJ5 Navy; '74 CJ5; '80 CJ7; '84 CJ8; '86 CJ7
Posted Image <----CLICK

#73 User is offline   JeepNWilly 

  • Brigadier General
  • View gallery
  • Group: GlobalMod
  • Posts: 2,570
  • Joined: 23-April 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:West Palm Beach, FL

Posted 31 March 2011 - 01:52 PM

You need to make sure the router (D-Link) has an option in it's menu to make it an Access Point only device (basically disabling all router functions) in this mode it acts as another computer and gets the IP information from the main router and broadcasts the WiFi signal with whatever security you choose.
Willy
2006 Wrangler X , 2014 JK Unlimited Sport
Keep Calm And Wave On
Pics:

Posted Image

#74 User is offline   Rollbar 

  • Commander
  • Group: GlobalMod
  • Posts: 7,057
  • Joined: 16-May 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Floral City, Florida

Posted 31 March 2011 - 01:57 PM

ok so I have to go into d-link.

Thanks will check it out.

?~Will this boost my signal or are they only putting out the same individually just being separate antennas.

?~Will this make a bigger field of antenna range, meaning broadcast but same power, just better field to pull from.

What if it's 3' away for testing?
*MY CJ IS YOUR yJ's DADDY*

*Who Needs A Stinking Manual When You Have A Fat Wallet For Tech Support!*

*What man is a man who does not make the world better*

Support the Central Florida Bible Camp for kids

'65 CJ5 Navy; '74 CJ5; '80 CJ7; '84 CJ8; '86 CJ7
Posted Image <----CLICK

#75 User is offline   JeepNWilly 

  • Brigadier General
  • View gallery
  • Group: GlobalMod
  • Posts: 2,570
  • Joined: 23-April 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:West Palm Beach, FL

Posted 31 March 2011 - 02:01 PM

No difference in the signal you are just disabling it's router capabilities.

You could have 2 routers in line but things can get a bit complex so it is better to make the D-Link an Access Point only device.

What is the exact model and revision of the D-Link? It should have that info in the back or bottom of it.
example:
DIR-615
DIR-615_REVB
DIR-615_REVC
DIR-615_REVE
Willy
2006 Wrangler X , 2014 JK Unlimited Sport
Keep Calm And Wave On
Pics:

Posted Image

#76 User is offline   Rollbar 

  • Commander
  • Group: GlobalMod
  • Posts: 7,057
  • Joined: 16-May 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Floral City, Florida

Posted 31 March 2011 - 02:11 PM

View PostRollbar, on 13 September 2010 - 10:40 AM, said:

I'm dealing w/250'-300'.



View PostRollbar, on 13 September 2010 - 03:05 PM, said:

But I'm still at 2dbi with the antenna at the office.



View PostRollbar, on 29 March 2011 - 07:59 PM, said:

Yes I get signal to the office from the house

Here is what I have @ the office,a 2dbi but now I found out they have 5dbi:
http://www.compusa.com/applications/Search...&CatId=2688
Posted Image


I have to look what router they gave me, looks sweet though.

Yes access point only but if it's not going to do much I might as well move the antenna @ the office to the end of the building but then I would have to get a 36' USB cable M/F.

On the second page I listed the D-Link 615 but would have to check if there are any numbers after it.

I might just have to save and get the repeater you mentioned, plug-n-play and put if @ a window in the church and let it beam to the office 35' away.

#77 User is offline   JeepNWilly 

  • Brigadier General
  • View gallery
  • Group: GlobalMod
  • Posts: 2,570
  • Joined: 23-April 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:West Palm Beach, FL

Posted 31 March 2011 - 02:12 PM

View PostRollbar, on 31 March 2011 - 02:11 PM, said:

Yes access point only but if it's not going to do much I might as well move the antenna @ the office to the end of the building but then I would have to get a 36' USB cable M/F.

Correct
Willy
2006 Wrangler X , 2014 JK Unlimited Sport
Keep Calm And Wave On
Pics:

Posted Image

#78 User is offline   Rollbar 

  • Commander
  • Group: GlobalMod
  • Posts: 7,057
  • Joined: 16-May 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Floral City, Florida

Posted 31 March 2011 - 02:16 PM

I am wondering if the USB would burn up the antenna (read specs on it) running it 36'? :nervous:

That would put the antenna closer. It use to be in the bedroom window, but now I had them move it to the family room window so Jr. & I could run hard lines to the X-Boa/Laptop and get 36meg +. W/out the hard line I was getting 19-22megs.

Speed man, speed! :biggrin1: :obsessed: :naughty: :wacko: :cool:
*MY CJ IS YOUR yJ's DADDY*

*Who Needs A Stinking Manual When You Have A Fat Wallet For Tech Support!*

*What man is a man who does not make the world better*

Support the Central Florida Bible Camp for kids

'65 CJ5 Navy; '74 CJ5; '80 CJ7; '84 CJ8; '86 CJ7
Posted Image <----CLICK

#79 User is offline   JeepNWilly 

  • Brigadier General
  • View gallery
  • Group: GlobalMod
  • Posts: 2,570
  • Joined: 23-April 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:West Palm Beach, FL

Posted 31 March 2011 - 02:21 PM

I would give the USB a try if you have it
Willy
2006 Wrangler X , 2014 JK Unlimited Sport
Keep Calm And Wave On
Pics:

Posted Image

#80 User is offline   Rollbar 

  • Commander
  • Group: GlobalMod
  • Posts: 7,057
  • Joined: 16-May 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Floral City, Florida

Posted 31 March 2011 - 02:23 PM

I would have to order a long cable first, if that :nono: worky, then repeater :biggrin1:
*MY CJ IS YOUR yJ's DADDY*

*Who Needs A Stinking Manual When You Have A Fat Wallet For Tech Support!*

*What man is a man who does not make the world better*

Support the Central Florida Bible Camp for kids

'65 CJ5 Navy; '74 CJ5; '80 CJ7; '84 CJ8; '86 CJ7
Posted Image <----CLICK

#81 User is offline   JeepNWilly 

  • Brigadier General
  • View gallery
  • Group: GlobalMod
  • Posts: 2,570
  • Joined: 23-April 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:West Palm Beach, FL

Posted 31 March 2011 - 02:24 PM

View PostRollbar, on 31 March 2011 - 02:11 PM, said:

I might just have to save and get the repeater you mentioned, plug-n-play and put if @ a window in the church and let it beam to the office 35' away.

Or put it in the office and hope it is able to get the signal and rebroadcast it.
Willy
2006 Wrangler X , 2014 JK Unlimited Sport
Keep Calm And Wave On
Pics:

Posted Image

#82 User is offline   Rollbar 

  • Commander
  • Group: GlobalMod
  • Posts: 7,057
  • Joined: 16-May 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Floral City, Florida

Posted 31 March 2011 - 02:26 PM

Yep I could but the window facing the house would be a little closer and line of sight through frosted glass (w/bumps on the glass) though.

Got to check on the cable, I think I listed one on page one, have to look.
*MY CJ IS YOUR yJ's DADDY*

*Who Needs A Stinking Manual When You Have A Fat Wallet For Tech Support!*

*What man is a man who does not make the world better*

Support the Central Florida Bible Camp for kids

'65 CJ5 Navy; '74 CJ5; '80 CJ7; '84 CJ8; '86 CJ7
Posted Image <----CLICK

#83 User is offline   Rollbar 

  • Commander
  • Group: GlobalMod
  • Posts: 7,057
  • Joined: 16-May 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Floral City, Florida

Posted 31 March 2011 - 02:33 PM

View PostJeepNWilly, on 24 August 2010 - 01:58 PM, said:



The 30' looks better, ordering it now.

#84 User is offline   JeepNWilly 

  • Brigadier General
  • View gallery
  • Group: GlobalMod
  • Posts: 2,570
  • Joined: 23-April 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:West Palm Beach, FL

Posted 31 March 2011 - 02:37 PM

Is that for the router they gave you? make sure it has the same connector.
Willy
2006 Wrangler X , 2014 JK Unlimited Sport
Keep Calm And Wave On
Pics:

Posted Image

#85 User is offline   Rollbar 

  • Commander
  • Group: GlobalMod
  • Posts: 7,057
  • Joined: 16-May 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Floral City, Florida

Posted 31 March 2011 - 02:39 PM

Looks the same as the wireless HIRO ends if memory serves. I'm at the office so I can disconnect right now.

7 bucks, if not I will send back (free shipping) or send it to you :biggrin1: :tongue1:
*MY CJ IS YOUR yJ's DADDY*

*Who Needs A Stinking Manual When You Have A Fat Wallet For Tech Support!*

*What man is a man who does not make the world better*

Support the Central Florida Bible Camp for kids

'65 CJ5 Navy; '74 CJ5; '80 CJ7; '84 CJ8; '86 CJ7
Posted Image <----CLICK

#86 User is offline   JeepNWilly 

  • Brigadier General
  • View gallery
  • Group: GlobalMod
  • Posts: 2,570
  • Joined: 23-April 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:West Palm Beach, FL

Posted 31 March 2011 - 02:44 PM

View PostRollbar, on 31 March 2011 - 02:39 PM, said:

Looks the same as the wireless HIRO ends if memory serves. I'm at the office so I can disconnect right now.

7 bucks, if not I will send back (free shipping) or send it to you :biggrin1: :tongue1:

:rof:
Willy
2006 Wrangler X , 2014 JK Unlimited Sport
Keep Calm And Wave On
Pics:

Posted Image

#87 User is offline   Rollbar 

  • Commander
  • Group: GlobalMod
  • Posts: 7,057
  • Joined: 16-May 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Floral City, Florida

Posted 31 March 2011 - 02:55 PM

The router they supplied is a UBEE DDW3612

I'm connected @ 14.5Mbps it says but my speed test differ some.

Speedtest.net

2.15/1.95 was 6mbps/10mbps w/the D-link on the bedroom window but I think if I can get my antenna closer it would be fine for what I need @ the office. I just wish HIRO offered the 5dbi antenna when I bought the 2dbi. Oh well, at least I will be smoking @ home w/min 25mbps and about 36-45 hard lined in :rof: :cool:

Ok, going home for lunch. :grouphug:
*MY CJ IS YOUR yJ's DADDY*

*Who Needs A Stinking Manual When You Have A Fat Wallet For Tech Support!*

*What man is a man who does not make the world better*

Support the Central Florida Bible Camp for kids

'65 CJ5 Navy; '74 CJ5; '80 CJ7; '84 CJ8; '86 CJ7
Posted Image <----CLICK

#88 User is offline   JeepNWilly 

  • Brigadier General
  • View gallery
  • Group: GlobalMod
  • Posts: 2,570
  • Joined: 23-April 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:West Palm Beach, FL

Posted 31 March 2011 - 02:57 PM

View PostRollbar, on 31 March 2011 - 02:55 PM, said:

Ok, going home for lunch. :grouphug:

In 30 min I am going home for the day :biggrin1:
Willy
2006 Wrangler X , 2014 JK Unlimited Sport
Keep Calm And Wave On
Pics:

Posted Image

#89 User is offline   Rollbar 

  • Commander
  • Group: GlobalMod
  • Posts: 7,057
  • Joined: 16-May 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Floral City, Florida

Posted 31 March 2011 - 02:58 PM

Tomorrow and Sat I'm off :tongue1:
*MY CJ IS YOUR yJ's DADDY*

*Who Needs A Stinking Manual When You Have A Fat Wallet For Tech Support!*

*What man is a man who does not make the world better*

Support the Central Florida Bible Camp for kids

'65 CJ5 Navy; '74 CJ5; '80 CJ7; '84 CJ8; '86 CJ7
Posted Image <----CLICK

#90 User is offline   Rollbar 

  • Commander
  • Group: GlobalMod
  • Posts: 7,057
  • Joined: 16-May 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Floral City, Florida

Posted 06 April 2011 - 06:09 PM

View PostJeepNWilly, on 29 March 2011 - 08:03 PM, said:

Something like this may be what you need. The range extender get your signal and rebroadcasts it out


Posted Image

here is another

Posted Image


OK, I checked the second picture from CompUSA and it has a rating of 3dbi. I have a 2bdi antenna now @ the building. I don't see where this would be any advantage.


View PostJeepNWilly, on 31 March 2011 - 02:01 PM, said:

No difference in the signal you are just disabling it's router capabilities.

You could have 2 routers in line but things can get a bit complex so it is better to make the D-Link an Access Point only device.

What is the exact model and revision of the D-Link? It should have that info in the back or bottom of it.
example:
DIR-615
DIR-615_REVB
DIR-615_REVC
DIR-615_REVE


I have the DIR-615 D-Link.

View PostRollbar, on 31 March 2011 - 02:33 PM, said:

The 30' looks better, ordering it now.


I received the 30' cbl and it did not work, seems it couldn't push the length.
*MY CJ IS YOUR yJ's DADDY*

*Who Needs A Stinking Manual When You Have A Fat Wallet For Tech Support!*

*What man is a man who does not make the world better*

Support the Central Florida Bible Camp for kids

'65 CJ5 Navy; '74 CJ5; '80 CJ7; '84 CJ8; '86 CJ7
Posted Image <----CLICK

Share this topic:


  • 5 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5


Fast Reply

  
Miami Jeep Fort Lauderdale Jeep Dealer